You are here


Honourable Dr. Vijaylakshmi Sadho

Minister, Ayush Department of Madhya Pradesh

Dr. Vijayalakshmi Sadho was born on November 13, 1955 at Mandleshwar in Khargone district. An MBBS Dr. Sadho has interest in tourism and wildlife also

Dr. Sadho was elected for the first time in the 8th assembly in the year 1985. She was a member of Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribes and Backward Class Welfare Committee and the Public Accounts and Women and Child Welfare Committee. Along with this, Dr. Sadho has also been Director of Madhya Pradesh Housing Board for three years. She has represented India in the World Youth Conference held in Moscow in 1985. She became the general secretary of Madhya Pradesh Youth Congress-E from1985 to 1993. Dr. Sadho was a part of the study team of the general elections held in the US in 1986.

Dr. Sadho was a member of the Indian team in the World Youth Conference held in North Korea in 1989. She was also the Parliamentary Secretary, Public Health and Family Welfare and Jail Department in the year 1989-90. She has been a member of the Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee continuously since 1985 and of the All India Congress Committee from 1990. She has been jailed several times during the BJP rule. Elected in the 10th Legislative Assembly Dr. Sadho was also the Minister of Tourism, Culture, 20 Point Program, Science and Technology and Culture.

Dr. Sadho traveled to Germany, England, Malaysia, Singapore, Philippines and Bangkok in the year 1995. She participated in the World Tourism Fair held in London in 1996. She was also elected in the 11th Assembly in 1998 and was Minister of Narmada Valley Development and Social Welfare Department. Dr. Sadho was elected as the Member of the Legislative Assembly for the fourth time in the year 2008. She resigned from the membership of the Assembly on June 22, 2010 after being elected as a Rajya Sabha member. She was elected as member of the 15th Assembly from Maheshwar assembly constituency in 2018.

Dr. Vijaylakshmi Sadho took oath of the minister’s post in the Council of Ministers of Chief Minister Shri Kamal Nath on December 25, 2018.